Okay, okay. Tests suck, yes. Studying is infinitely worse (in my opinion), yes. BUT finals week is fun, too! Hear me out.
1) You get to make your own schedule (for the most part). I have three scheduled finals--one on Tuesday, one on Wednesday, and one on Thursday--and two unscheduled. You can't change your scheduled exams, but you don't have to go sit through boring lecture for the ENTIRE week and make your own hours. Whether that means you sleep in (my personal favorite) and study in the afternoon or wake up early so you have afternoons free. The world is your oyster, my friend.
2) Tests only last for so long. Yes, sometimes tests last for hours, which definitely puts a damper on walking into the testing center. But the way I look at it, I'm gonna go sit down at a desk for X amount of time, but that time will end in the imminent future and then that class is behind me and I have crossed the finish line!
3) People are so strung out and stressed that they're actually pretty fun (at least the ones I interact with). I mean, the entire student population, for this one week, realize that we're all in this together and that it's completely acceptable to be uncommonly pleasant to one another. I don't know why this doesn't apply to the entire year..but it is what it is. For example: Today I was waiting in the line in the WILK to take one of my religion tests and this girl in front of me struck up a conversation with me. We talked the entire time we waited in line. Now that I think about it, we didn't even exchange names. We just talked about tests, classes, teachers, the campus, etc. But it was friendly and terrific and at the end of it we genuinely wished one another 'good luck' on our tests and such. To you, my new friend, I hope you did well on your test and I hope you are indeed signed up for Brother Dorius's class next semester because he rocks.
Also, on an unrelated topic. I went ice skating last weekend and I'm pretty terrible. Well, I take that back, I only fell 3 times *patting on back* which I consider to be an accomplishment. AND, one of those falls was due to a certain someone *cough Maddie cough* pulling my down with her. We were definitely the two worst skaters in the group, and we thought it was a good idea to hold hands and help each other. Oh yeah, we thought that one through *shakes head*. But we had fun and we laughed. A lot. :) Ah. Life is good.
This picture makes me happy.

No comments:
Post a Comment